Jane Weaver, Billy Nomates, Arab Strap, Stereolab, Lost Horizons, Kings Of Leon, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Working Men's Club

Posted by Mark Merrifield on

Loads of great new stuff to tell you about this week...

New Arrivals Friday 5th March

Billy Nomates returns with her new 5 Track EP Emergency Telephone. She says, "Emergency Telephone is predominantly about communication breakdowns; personally, mentally, physically. A strange thing to happen while communication has never had so many channels. Perhaps we need a direct line.” Limited edition oceans blue blue vinyl in stock. Billy Nomates will celebrate the release of the EP with an exclusive LIVE PERFORMANCE ON SATURDAY 6TH AT 9PM

LIVE STREAM LINK: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MZsKG4D4KA

We've been looking forward to Jane Weaver's new album Flock which is out this Friday 5th March. 'Flock is a record which is invested in the production of a better future. ' Loud & Quiet

Kings Of Leon are back with a new album, their 8th, When You See Yourself is in stock on limited cream vinyl (with free set of postcards) or CD.

Arab Strap return with As Days Get Dark their 7th studio album and their first since 2005. “It’s about hopelessness and darkness,” says Aidan Moffat, of the new album. “But in a fun way. It’s definitely Arab Strap, but an older and wiser one, and quite probably a better one.”

Stereolab release Electrically Posessed. Switched On Volume 4. 'Following on from the first volume released in 1992, 1995's Refried Ectoplasm, and 1998's Aluminum Tunes, the long-awaited fourth installment spans 1999 - 2008 in the Stereolab story and collates 3 LPs worth of material, all remastered from the original tapes and overseen by the band.'

3LP or 2CD versions in stock now.

Ryuichi Sakamoto's Music For Film is the first overview of Sakamoto's remarkable catalogue of film scores. Limited edition 2LP on white vinyl with red splatter. Numbered run of 1000 copies.

Ron Gallo's 3rd album Peacemeal is out on green vinyl.

Out this Friday is a Love Record Stores limited 12" picture disc version of Working Men's Club's self titled album. 

Formidable UK duo Lost Horizons (Simon Raymonde - Cocteau Twins & Richard Thomas - The Jesus & Mary Chain, Butterfly Child) release their new album In Quiet Moments this Friday.

It features an impressive line up of guests; John Grant, C Duncan, Marissa Nadler, Porridge Radio, Penelope Isles, Laura Groves, Karen Peris (the innocence mission), Tim Smith (Midlake), Ren Harvieu and many more. We have the 2LP green & blue 180gm vinyl in stock and the CD version in stock.

Canadian songwriter Whitney K's (aka Konner Whitney) new release Two Years is available on black vinyl or CD. 'A twisted ride through wierd folk, threadbare rock'n'roll,  texture, form, psychedelia and convention' Line Of Best Fit

New from Blanck Mass (aka Benjamin John Power) In Ferneaux  uses 'an archive of field recordings from a decade of global travels, isolation gave Blanck Mass an opportunity to make connections in a moment when being together is impossible'. Indie exclusive on magenta vinyl. 

A Winged Victory for the Sullen, the composer collaboration between Stars of the Lid founder Adam Wiltzie and L.A. composer Dustin O'Halloran, release new album Invisible Cities, the stunning score to the critically acclaimed theatre production. Black vinyl edition in stock.

Four Tet and Madlib’s collaboration Sound Ancestors is out this week on CD.  

'The product of several years and hundreds of recordings and fragments provided by Madlib, Sound Ancestors is dense but never overwhelming. The connections blend seamlessly thanks both to Four Tet’s steady hand and Madlib’s uncanny ability to deftly juggle ideas.' Rolling Stone

A vinyl version is coming 19th March.

Two Synths A Guitar (And) A Drum Machine is a new compilation on the Soul Jazz Records label which features artists from around the globe include Los Angeles D-I-Y band Automatic, New Fries from Toronto, artist/music collaborators Toresch from Germany, Susumu Makai from Japan/UK, Vex Ruffin from the Phillipines/California and Madmadmad, Gramme, Tom of England and other UK groups. In stock on vinyl and CD.

Other Great Stuff...

The Stone Roses - The Remixes - double 180gm vinyl. Tracks remixed by A Guy Called Gerald, Paul Oakenfold, Justin Robertson, Grooverider, Utah Saints & More.

Big Thief's 2020 album Capacity on vinyl or CD and their debut Masterpiece on vinyl.

We have two excellent Trojan compilations from the Music On Vinyl label; Tougher Than Tough: Trojan Rude Boy Sounds and Right On Time: Trojan Rock Steady. Both compilations are are limited edition of 1000, numbered, double coloured vinyl and come with coasters.

Banane Bleue is the brand new album from French/British indie pop band Frànçois and the Atlas Mountains. Available on limited edition blue vinyl or CD. 'Written solely by Frànçois Marry himself, close collaborator and Weird World artist Jaakko Eino Kalevi was enlisted for production duties whilst Renaud Letang (Feist, Gonzales, Connan Mockasin) mixed the album.'

Strum & Thrum: The American Jangle Underground 1983-1987 is a fantastic  2CD compilation that came out at the end of 2020. 28 jangle pop/indie rock tracks and a 100 page booklet. 

Slowdive Fans! 

5 the EP from 1993 has been released as a limited run of 4000 numbered copies on pink/purple marbled 180gm vinyl and 

We have the 'Special Request Remix' by Paul Woolford of Floatation by The Grid -  limited translucent 12" vinyl version.

The Wedding Present - Locked Down And Stripped Back features home recordings of Wedding Present classics, along with two previously unreleased songs: You’re Just A Habit That I’m Trying To Break and We Should Be Together ft. Louise Wener (Sleeper). We have the coloured vinyl version in stock which includes a CD of all the tracks. CD version also available.

Berlin electronic duo Mouse On Mars' new release AAI is in stock on limited double grey vinyl or CD.

Sand was released last Friday 26th Feb, the latest from Belgian Indie pop band Balthazar, available on CD

A double treat for Melvins fans!

Working With God is the new studio album from US metal band Melvins, featuring the 1983 line-up of Buzz Osborne, Dale Crover and Mike Dillard. The band's 28th album! Available on CD

Also out now...

Gluey Porch Treatments - The 1987 release is available again on Vinyl LP. 140 Gram Lime Green vinyl with 12pp booklet. Limited to 2500 copies.

It's also a fantastic week for fans of The National, with several new reissues up for grabs...

First up is the band's self title debut which celebrates its 20th Anniversary this year.

Next, their 2003 2nd album Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers is reissued on black vinyl.

And finally The National have also remastered & reissued their fan favourite 2004 EP Cherry Tree on black vinyl. 

Sheffield's Cabaret Voltaire release Shadow Of Funk as a limited coloured 12"

Our brilliant Friday shop assistant Kayleigh has produced a short survey as part of her college dissertation about the impact of drug/alcohol usage in the music industry and would be very grateful to anyone who has 2 minutes spare to fill it in online.


Local festival Beyond The Woods, which showcases new talent from Lincolnshire, are planning their event at Stourton Woods 6-8th August and are looking for volunteers 18+


Record Store Day News... the latest is that there will be 2 RSD Drops on 12th June and 17th July. A list of RSD 2021 releases is coming soon We'll keep you updated about how these Drops will operate at Off The Beaten Tracks. Read  more here:


We are busy getting the shop ready for re-opening which all being well will be from 10.00am on Tuesday 13th April. We look forward to welcoming you then.

Share this post

← Older Post Newer Post →

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published.